Judiciary operationalises Hoima High Court Circuit, 5 others

Hoima is among the six High Courts that have finally been operationalised by the judiciary exciting lawyers and residents.

 “Following the enhancement of the Judiciary budget and the appointment of more Judges, the Judiciary has operationalised six High Court Circuits,” the October 2 press statement read in part.

The newly operationalised circuits are; Hoima, Iganga, Luwero, Moroto, Tororo and Rukungiri.

The statement said the delay in the operationalisation of these High Circuits was due to logistical and manpower issues.

Explaining the background of the new circuits, the Chief Registrar, Sarah Langa Siu stated that these were designated under Statutory Instrument No. 55 of 2016.

“In 2016, then Chief Justice, Bart Katurebe in exercise of his powers under Article 133 of the Constitution and in accordance with the provisions of Section 19(2) of the Judicature Act, and in consultation with the then Principal Judge, Yorokamu Bamwine, designated new High Court Circuits in addition to those already in existence.”

The judiciary added that arrangements were underway to transfer all cases that fall under the above circuits, but had been filed at the different High Court Divisions and Circuits, noting that parties to the respective cases shall be informed accordingly.

It noted that with all these arrangements in place, major operations in the newly operationalised courts will start this month.

The judiciary hopes with the operationalisation of these Circuits, there will be improved access to justice, service delivery and contribute significantly in the reduction of case backlog.

The public from the just operationalised areas have been advised to file their cases at their respective High Court circuits.

The deployment of Judges to these circuits were made by the Principal Judge, Flavian Zeija in Circular No.01/2022 and took effect on September 18, 2022.

The circuit court for Hoima will serve Kagadi, Kibaale, Hoima, Kikuube and Buliisa under Justice Jesse Byaruhanga Rugyema.

Iganga circuit will take Bugiri, Kaliro, Namayingo, Iganga, Mayuge, Busembatia, Namutumba and Luuka districts, will be presided over by Justice David Batema.

Luwero which will serve the districts of Luwero, Nakasongola and Nakaseke, shall be under Lady Justice Henrietta Wolayo.

Mororo under Lady Justice Mary Ikit will cover Kotido, Kaabong, Moroto, Nakapiripirit, Abim, Amudat and Napak.

Rukungiri will serve Rukungiri and Kanungu under Justice Tom Chemutai. Tororo will cover Tororo, Busia, Butaleja under Justice Henry Isabirye Kawesa.

Solomon King Byamukama, an advocate and currently a legal officer at Mid-Western Region Anti-Corruption Coalition (MIRAC), in Hoima City, welcomed the operationalisation of the courts, saying that apart from easing access to justice, many residents will be saved from extra costs to travel to Masindi to file cases in High Court.

John Mwanga a resident in Hoima says corruption among lower judicial officers will reduce for fear one can easily inform the judge.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *